Options

Getting Network+ certified

GMinatorGMinator Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm having a hard time passing the Network+ certification exam. I'm 70 points from passing. The class made sense, the book makes sense, I understand what I'm reading but I can't pass the exam. Some test questions I thought were unfair. What can I do to pass the exam? Should I purchase test questions? What resources out there can help me get certified?

Comments

• Options
    jblavenjblaven Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
    What questions did you feel were unfair? ...could be these are topics that you need to brush up on... I am studying to take it for the first time as well and can understand where some of the harder material can bite you if you don't fully understand it.

I was moving right along through Mike Meyers book until I got to subnetting using binary numbers. Let's just say I've been on it for a couple of days. I went by the book store today (looking for a different angle on the explanation). One of Todd Lammle's Cisco study guides explained it a little better and it "clicked" for me.

It sounds like you have an idea about the parts you don't understand. Let the guys here point you in the right direction and I am sure you will do much better the next time around.

I would be more concerned if you didn't know what you didn't know. :D
  • Options
    Asif DaslAsif Dasl Member Posts: 2,116 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I think you need to re-read the book, as some of the fundamentals of networking are not sinking in or sticking. Exam questions can be poorly worded granted, but I don't buy in to people saying exam questions are unfair. If you know the material then you can usually recognise a poorly worded question and realise that it's a simple mistake. And they are not going to be in the numbers that would make you fail an entire exam.