Options

Unable to access file

DevilsbaneDevilsbane Member Posts: 4,214 ■■■■■■■■□□
Recently I put a request in to disable permission inheritance on a folder, remove a group (that I among many other people were part of) and then to add a group that just had 3 people in it. I wish I had the access to do this myself, but that is a different story.

Anyway, yesterday the change was implemented and I found that I couldn't create a file. The new group was given the correct permissions, I was a member of this group, and the share permissions were not edited. When I used the effective permissions features, it said I should have Full Control. Which is untrue, I should have only had modify but really just had read (Domain users had and still have read on the folder). There were no deny permissions anywhere.

Suspecting that this group was just created, some time might be needed to replicate through. Sure enough, today I can create files.

I feel like a noob here, but can someone explain this behavior?
Decide what to be and go be it.

Comments

• Options
    instant000instant000 Member Posts: 1,745
    Devilsbane wrote: »
    Recently I put a request in to disable permission inheritance on a folder, remove a group (that I among many other people were part of) and then to add a group that just had 3 people in it. I wish I had the access to do this myself, but that is a different story.

Anyway, yesterday the change was implemented and I found that I couldn't create a file. The new group was given the correct permissions, I was a member of this group, and the share permissions were not edited. When I used the effective permissions features, it said I should have Full Control. Which is untrue, I should have only had modify but really just had read (Domain users had and still have read on the folder). There were no deny permissions anywhere.

Suspecting that this group was just created, some time might be needed to replicate through. Sure enough, today I can create files.