Options

did you get a pay raise when you got a degree?

Mike-MikeMike-Mike Member Posts: 1,860
a friend of mine, not in IT, finished his degree at Univ of Phoenix, and got a significant raise for doing so...

did that happen to anyone in IT on here?

if so, how did it happen? Did you ask for it? "Hey bossman, I be all educated and stuff, how bout some 'mo cash?"

or did they just say, "hey you got a degree, here's some dough?"

or was it already in place, as in, "if you finish your Bachelor's while working here, you're entitled to a bump in pay?"
Currently Working On

CWTS, then WireShark

Comments

• Options
    LordQarlynLordQarlyn Member Posts: 693 ■■■■■■□□□□
    LOL actually when I got my degree I got a pink slip.

But the company was bleeding customers and money, so in the long run it worked out for me, shook me out complacency.
  • Options
    JpgonzalJpgonzal Member Posts: 32 ■■□□□□□□□□
    This is a non-IT anecdote so it may not apply, but I think the procedure is practically universal.

Personally, after I graduated (Non-IT field, doh!), I took the approach of treating it like any other request for a raise. I would argue that a degree doesn't "entitle" you to money but it sure does add some firepower. Have a gameplan, and be prepared to "prove" why you should get a raise. Let me preface this by saying that an employee with experience and a recent graduate is a powerful thing. That is a very attractive commodity to employers, how could it not be?

I have a few friends in IT and it appears to me that it usually is best practice to get it in writing so that if you get Y certification, you'll be rewarded with X amount of money. Thought to be honest, it sure sounds nice to name your price, one of these days!

What are some other thoughts out there??
  • Options
    azjagazjag Member Posts: 579 ■■■■■■■□□□