Options

I want a higher salary, where should I go from here?

was55amgwas55amg Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello boys and girls!

my last visit here was in April 2006! I'd like your advises please:

I have a 2 years Techonology Diploma in Network Administration. I Passed in 2006 my CCNA, MCP and MCSA on Windows 2000 and Comptia A+ certification.

After that, I worked for 2 years for a company based in Africa. Then I got fed up, and I had enough money to pursue my dream which was to become an airline pilot. I've done it.

Due to the way the economy is, I can't find a job as an airline pilot now, so I have decided to work as a technical support agent at IBM in Canada. Because I have not worked in the IT field since 2008, I know that I have to start at such an entry level job, and I'm getting half what I was getting before. Now I am getting 17.50$/hour.

I'd like to know what certifications, studies I could pursue so as to get back into the game, and get a salary in the range of 30$/hour? I'm ready to study anything!

Thanks guys!

Comments

• Options
    Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□
    There is no sure for direction for any of this. Normally if you don't have a passion for technology you can only go so for. You are making pretty good cash there for something who has been out of the game.

Define your experience and passions for us?

I can give you some generic recommendations...

Generally you are probably going to take the next step after CCNA and grab some specializations. Voice and Security. From there any of the CCNP lineup will do.

On the Microsoft side of things you want your core knowledge, MCITP:Server Administrator 2008 and then at least two specializations, say MCTS:Exchange 2010, Configuring and MCTS:SQL Server 2008, Configuring.

Security+ and Linux+ would be good moves too.
    -Daniel
  • Options
    Hi Daniel,

thank you so much for your input!