Can anyone tell me whether this is a good switch?

MrXpertMrXpert Member Posts: 586 ■■■□□□□□□□
CISCO 2950 24 Port 10/100 Switch | eBay UK

will i need a propriety ac power connector or are they the same IEC320 power leads that hook upto computers?

i've never used a switch before so can anyone give me any advice please on what i'd need to do to connect it to my pc and how i maybe able to connect up my netgear adsl router/modem to it to be able to access internet?
I'm an Xpert at nothing apart from remembering useless information that nobody else cares about.

Comments

• lon21lon21 Member Posts: 201
    MrXpert wrote: »
    CISCO 2950 24 Port 10/100 Switch | eBay UK

will i need a propriety ac power connector or are they the same IEC320 power leads that hook upto computers?

i've never used a switch before so can anyone give me any advice please on what i'd need to do to connect it to my pc and how i maybe able to connect up my netgear adsl router/modem to it to be able to access internet?

I have one of those,

You'll need a normal power plug Female 3 pin. The ones you put at the back of a Tower PC.

You'll need a straight cable from you netgear to your switch. Also you need a console cable to configure the switch at first then once you set up telnet you can configure the switch via telnet.
  • MrXpertMrXpert Member Posts: 586 ■■■□□□□□□□
    lon21 wrote: »
    I have one of those,

You'll need a normal power plug Female 3 pin. The ones you put at the back of a Tower PC.

You'll need a straight cable from you netgear to your switch. Also you need a console cable to configure the switch at first then once you set up telnet you can configure the switch via telnet.

So do I connect the switch to my pc's NIC using a cat5e/6 straight cable?
    then my netgear home adsl router is connected to the switch with a straight cat 5e/6 cable?

Or is it a case of the switch does not connect to my PC and simply just connects to the netgear home router?