Options

Group Policy - Non-Admin Rights Question

Stiltz79Stiltz79 Member Posts: 74 ■■□□□□□□□□
I working on building a GPO to assist with removing local admin rights for users. I'm running into a problem where I would like to use GPO to allow non-admin to install local printers and other hardware. I Googled a bunch of research and came up with some solutions, but they don't seem to be functioning the way I want them to. Here's the link to solution I'm using:

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/w7itprosecurity/thread/df21

Am I missing something? Are there other policies that need to be changed also? I'm a trainee admin at my job and this is part of our planning for Windows 7 Implementation. Any help would be appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    DevilsbaneDevilsbane Member Posts: 4,214 ■■■■■■■■□□
    By configuring the Restricted groups policy located under Computer --> Windows Settings --> Security Settings you can restrict which users are members of the local admin groups. By not adding a person to a restricted group here, everytime the policy is refreshed the users not on that list will be removed from the local administrator group.

You can then allow authenticated users to load and unload device drivers by going to Computer --> Windows Settings --> Security Settings- User Rights Assignment.

You could also add these users to the local power users group, but that might give them more access than you wanted.
    Decide what to be and go be it.
  • Options
    Stiltz79Stiltz79 Member Posts: 74 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Is there something wrong with the way I approaching this problem originally? I only want to allow them to install certain pieces of hardware, specifically printers.
  • Options
    DevilsbaneDevilsbane Member Posts: 4,214 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Stiltz79 wrote: »
    Is there something wrong with the way I approaching this problem originally? I only want to allow them to install certain pieces of hardware, specifically printers.