Options

Seeking career change at Age 30

robk100robk100 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm seeking a career change, right now I'm currently working in education, but would like to enter a hot sector in the IT industry. I've always been interested in computers and been somewhat good with them. I took some programming classes in college but have since forgotten everything because it was 10 years ago. I graduated from a good school and have my BA. All the work experience I have has nothing to do with IT.

In particular, I was looking at Database Administration or Database Development. How do I go about pursuing a career path into these fields? Should I try to get an entry level job at a help desk, while going to a boot camp and starting earning certs? Take classes at an extension program, or get a post-bacc? Go back to school fulltime for a degree in computer science? For you professionals out there or those with a similar story to me I'm curious about the best possible way to attack making this career change.

I appreciate all the advice and help. Thanks.

Rob

Comments

• Options
    j_griffithj_griffith Member Posts: 68 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I would suggest you use some of the free resources on the internet and teach/relearn the basics of databases & DBA. Then look for a non-profit that you can donate your time (tax right off), develop your skills, build your resume, and network. These forums can probably highlight the free resources you can check out. You already have a Bachelors degree, Just redevelop your skills as a DBA, develope your experience and you should be able to get in the door to move up.

Regards,

J.
    WGU PROGRESS
    M.S Information Assurance and Security______ Completed: 0 CU's
    Start Date: October 2011 _ ______________________ _Remaining: 32 CU's

Goal for term ending 3/30/12 - EWOB1
    Courses Remaining / Term 2 Goal -
    Completed this term -
  • Options
    RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Rob,