Options

By September I will have 4 months of IT experience. Which cert would be easier to get

The 4 months of IT experience I have is dealing with Microsoft Windows XP Professional Systems such as installing them to desks and drilling in computer tracks for them. I have also learned how to configure HP printers. All the products we are installing are HP products. However, I have also had 6 months of Volunteer experience with Windows XP professional and actually getting inside a computer. Everything from configuring Windows XP professional to installing it.

I know I've talked a lot on here recently, as many of you know I am a college student. Which cert would be the easiest for me to get next? I was studying for the N+ exam, and then gave up studying for it. I was also studying for the Windows 7 exam, and was ready to take that, but then most of the people on a different forum say the material in the book is not like the one given in the exam.

My question is, should I spend my money on more material, or finish up school and wait awhile? Most of my experience is Windows XP professional. I here that cert is going to retire in 2014. Is that enough time to shoot for the Windows XP Professional Cert? What exams do I need to take?

Comments

• Options
    MishraMishra Member Posts: 2,468 ■■■■□□□□□□
    What are your goals? Future desires? Interests?
    My blog http://www.calegp.com

You may learn something!
  • Options
    ArmymanisArmymanis Member Posts: 304
    Mishra wrote: »
    What are your goals? Future desires? Interests?

I am having trouble deciding upon whether I should do Desktop Support or go into networking. I find numbers really boring and I really like to deal with the OS and helping other users navigate through it. I also really love imaging computers.

On the other hand, I love routers, switches, and hubs. I have never played with a switch or a hub, but i have a router.