Options

Need info about career change...

Suburban RatSuburban Rat Registered Users Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Thats right. I need advice. Im a truck driver and I love the job. I broke my ankle about a year and half ago. Im having trouble finding work because the injury was so bad that the work comp doc gave me medical restrictions. These restrictions are haunting me. I can do the job, its just that no employer wants the liability.
Out of this whole ordeal I came into some money. Id like to pursue a career in the IT biz. I know of a school that claims that it will get me certified in what seems to be all certifications that are available. I am still researching the school and the field. Can anyone tell me if this is good to invest in? Should I go to a regular college? They claim to go at the students pace. Here is the schools web page: Welcome to Computer Training Academy.

Comments

• Options
    EuclidJonesEuclidJones Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Depending on how well you can self study - I'd just buy a couple books and get cracking. The only money you HAVE to spend to get your certs, is the money for the exams.

Some of the terminology (and unfinished feel) of the site made me a little leery about the idea of spending money. I looked it up on certguard but it wasnt in their database.

I'd err on the side of caution and avoid cta5.
  • Options
    MrRyteMrRyte Member Posts: 347 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I'd err on the side of caution and avoid cta5.
    Same here. It seems a little too good to be true; especially this part-
    BE CAREER READY IN 5 MONTHS WITH ONLY 4 HOURS A WEEK IN THE FACILITY
    Just 5 months to being career-ready in IT?
    Sounds like one of those super-pricey trade schools.....icon_rolleyes.gif

See if you find a local community college that has the specific field of IT you're interested in.
    NEXT UP: CompTIA Security+ :study:

Life is a matter of choice not chance. The path to your destiny will be paved by the decisions that you make every day.