Lion OS X opinion

hiddenknight821hiddenknight821 Member Posts: 1,209 ■■■■■■□□□□
I am surprised I did not see a thread about this (or I might have missed it icon_redface.gif), so I decided to create one. I know TE doesn't have many Mac users here, but don't get me wrong. I am not an Apple fanboy either. I thought I was until I learned more about the flaws two years ago. I was a noob then. I am sure you guys heard about the new Lion OS that's suppose to be released this month. Here's the catch. As far as we know, Apple will NOT ship out the cd/dvd. We can only get it through their "app store".

I was not happy about this news either. I know most vendors do not normally ship out the OS restoration disks with their PCs, but we are still entitled to purchase our copies of the restoration disks from them. However, that's not the point in this case. We're buying an OS, so we should have the right to obtain it in another form of medium. If it turns out that we can download the ISO image from the app store and burn it to a disk, then that's good news for apple, but no one can verify this. I was reading this link, and I have to say I despite some idiots who commented there claiming that we do not need the disks as long as we may will a hidden recovery partition created after installing.

Rumors suggest that Apple was doing this as a "go-green" incentive and they're trying to stop the piracy issue with the hackintosh systems. No offense, but I don't like the hackintosh folks bragging about their setups either. Makes me wanna puke. Anyway, I want to hear what you guys have to say about Apple's decision since i am not interested in hearing from the bandwagon apple users that doesn't have a good understanding of clean install.

Comments

• Forsaken_GAForsaken_GA Member Posts: 4,024