Options

New with questions, imagine that!

cdmcgcdmcg Member Posts: 23 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,
Back in 2003, fresh out of high school, I had one idea in my head on what I wanted to do with my life, work on computers. I somewhat enjoyed programming, but not a lot. So I started taking a course for my CCNA cert and a course for A+. Being 18 and somewhat stupid, I dropped out and never finished. Years later I went to school for computer animation and got my B.S.

Now I reside outside the greater bay area in California. Work out here for game artists is slim pickins. So I was looking at getting into IT. Now I have enough student debt already from my B.S. so I was looking at going and getting my CCNA and start working from there.

I have always enjoyed the more hardware side of things then pure software dev. So, my biggest question is, should I just work on certs and try to get my foot in the door that way? I really dont know a lot about how the job market for networking works. I am an artist, so I understand on that aspect portfolio is everything. Show your best work, yadda yadda yadda. But from the stand point of networking and hardware related side how do you do that? I know I could learn the material and pass CCNA. But being 26, with an art degree, would I be taken seriously?

I appreciate any comments and will be following this very closely.
Current studies:
All-In-One CompTIA A+ Certification

http://gplus.to/cdmcg

Comments

• Options
    ccnxjrccnxjr Member Posts: 304 ■■■□□□□□□□
    The last successful interview i had , none of the managers had any formal IT background, the lead tech managed an EMT team, and the person i reported to was a graphic designer before getting into Telecom.
    If you can demonstrate knowledge and solid troubleshooting skills you should have a fighting chance when it comes to the interviews.