Options

Throw Me Some Names of Free UNIX OSes

hiddenknight821hiddenknight821 Member Posts: 1,209 ■■■■■■□□□□
I am currently working with a proprietary UNIX server at work, and I realize it's nothing compares to Linux distros that I use occassionally. I can't even go back to the previous commands that I typed with the UP arrow ( I even try CTRL and R), but the UNIX operating system is a completely different beast.

So, I would like you guys (preferably UNIX pros) to throw in some names of UNIX OS that I can actually download for free and play around with in VMs since I'm no expert on distinguishing the UNIX-based OS from the LINUX-based OS. I don't want to waste time messing with an OS that I thought was UNIX-based but turned out to be another Linux distro. Any OSes similar to BSD, Solaris, or AIX are desirable. Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    MrAgentMrAgent Member Posts: 1,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Correct me if I am wrong, but isnt that just the type of shell you are using? Are you using bash?
  • Options
    alan2308alan2308 Member Posts: 1,854 ■■■■■■■■□□
    There's a number of BSD derived OS's: FreeBSD, NetBSD, OpenBSD, DragonflyBSD, and PC-BSD are general purpose operating systems, and there's also specialty systems that are BSD based such as FreeNAS. Here is a list of everything BSD. A minimalist system such as NetBSD is going to look and feel a lot like old school UNIX. Beneath the GUI, OSX has a lot in common with BSD as well.

Next, there's Solaris, OpenSolaris, and a growing number of distros based on OpenSolaris, such as SchilliX, Belenix, and Illumos. Unfortunately, most other systems that are thought of as a "Real UNIX" are closely tied to a particular workstation or server architecture.