Options

GEC required for GSE

idr0pidr0p Member Posts: 104
So... I think by the end of the year i will have enough certifications for the GSE except i will need to take the GSEC.. i never took it because i graduated with a Network Security Degree and didnt want to spend the money for it when i basically have the knowlege. So i went for more specialized certs. Now i am looking to get my GSE and i feel like I will have to spend $700 to challege this now. is there any way around this like a CISSP or something?

Comments

• Options
    Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    idr0p wrote: »
    So... I think by the end of the year i will have enough certifications for the GSE except i will need to take the GSEC.. i never took it because i graduated with a Network Security Degree and didnt want to spend the money for it when i basically have the knowlege. So i went for more specialized certs. Now i am looking to get my GSE and i feel like I will have to spend $700 to challege this now. is there any way around this like a CISSP or something?

Have you read the full list of requirements?

GSE pre-requisite baseline is: GSEC, GCIH, GCIA with two gold.
    GSEC pre-requisite is unique because of dual windows and unix coverage.
    Substitution options:
    1. GCWN & GCUX combined can act as a substitute for GSEC
    2. Higher level certifications can act as substitutes for gold papers
    examples: GCFA, GCFW, GCUX, GCWN, GCED, GPEN, GWAPT, GAWN, GREM
    All GSE candidates must meet one of the following requirements:
    • GSEC, GCIH, GCIA plus one substitute 500 - 700 level certification. One certification must be a GIAC Gold.
    • GSEC, GCIH, GCIA plus two substitute 500 - 700 level certifications. No GIAC Gold required.
    • GCWN, GCUX, GCIH, GCIA with one certification being a GIAC Gold.
    • GCWN, GCUX, GCIH, GCIA plus one substitute 500 - 700 level certification. No GIAC Gold required.
  • Options