Cisco IOS' you're using

advanex1advanex1 Member Posts: 365 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hello all,

This is my first post and I apologize if this has been asked already. I've been looking through the Cisco IOS databases and I'm curious what most of you are using. I've currently already bought my vouchers for certain days (about 2 months from now) and I would like the appropriate IOS' for packet tracer / GNS3.

Yes, I've had experience on routing and switching, just haven't made the leap. I currently hold my Network+ and Security+ and I'm a Soldier in the US Army.

I appreciate your input on this.

Thanks

Justin
Currently Reading: CISM: All-in-One
New Blog: https://jpinit.com/blog

Comments

• ZartanasaurusZartanasaurus Member Posts: 2,008 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Did most of my GNS3 labbing on 2691 images.
    Currently reading:
    IPSec VPN Design 44%
    Mastering VMWare vSphere 5​ 42.8%
  • mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I haven't had any problems with the IOS versions supported by Dynamips -- versions I've tried (and had worked) are 7200, 3745, 3725, 3660, 3640, 3620, 2691, 1700 emulating a 1760, and 2600 emulating a 2651XM.

All IOS images will load faster if you uncompress then first (I use unzip on Linux or Winrar on Windows), but the 2600 images MUST be uncompressed if you want them to work.
    :mike: Cisco Certifications -- Collect the Entire Set!
  • alan2308alan2308 Member Posts: 1,854 ■■■■■■■■□□
    mikej412 wrote: »
    I haven't had any problems with the IOS versions supported by Dynamips

Ditto. I've yet to find an image for a supported router that didn't work. The ASA on the other hand.... icon_twisted.gif

I'm currently using 7200-advsecurityk9-mz.124-11.T.bin for everything except for Frame Relay switches and c3640-jk9o3s-mz.124-10a.bin for that.
  • tek2advancedtek2advanced Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I use Advanced IP Services and Advanced Enterprise Services.
    Advanced Enterprise Services, is pretty much everything before it.