Options

Need Help Figuring Out Career Path

RchrdJRchrdJ Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,

I am an 18 year old student who is looking to pursue a career in the IT field. However, I am a bit lost as to what my career path should be.

To start, I am looking to ultimately become a MCSE (Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer). However, I don't know where to start. From what I understand, the MCSE is an upgrade certificate, but I am confused as to what it needs to be upgraded from.

If anyone could point me in the right direction, that would be great. I am mainly interested in finding out what I can study right now to make it a bit easier for me once I am out of university.

Comments

• Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    RchrdJ wrote: »
    Hi,

I am an 18 year old student who is looking to pursue a career in the IT field. However, I am a bit lost as to what my career path should be.

To start, I am looking to ultimately become a MCSE (Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer). However, I don't know where to start. From what I understand, the MCSE is an upgrade certificate, but I am confused as to what it needs to be upgraded from.

If anyone could point me in the right direction, that would be great. I am mainly interested in finding out what I can study right now to make it a bit easier for me once I am out of university.

Welcome to the forum. Is there any particular reason why you are looking into MCSE? That track is based on Windows Server 2003 and since some exams already started expiring most of us will recommend going for an MCITP which is the same thing but based on Windows Server 2008. Both tracks are a series of exams. the links below will show you which exams each one of the tracks require.

MCSE Certification | MCSE Training | Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer

MCITP (Microsoft Certified IT Professional) | Training Courses for IT Professionals