Options

Experiencing trouble with one of our vendors.

N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
Vendor X has been dropping the ball bigtime lately. Wrong parts coming in all the time and missing parts when we actually need them. We ordered a fuser and a tray comes. Silly crap like that.

I am a rookie when it comes to vendor management. My questions is how would you go about trying to find another vendor?

We are mainly an HP shop with some Xerox's sprinkled around. All the plotters and MFD's have service contracts with another 3rd party vendor.

I'll be honest I am looking for some guidance. Part of me wants to get the guys HP certified, but I heard that was a bear to get done. Some of the guys said it's really hard to provide warranty work for HP. Either way we need a vendor who can step up and deliver. This crap is getting old. We are coming out of our baseline evaluation period soon, and customer sat is a KPI we are rated on.

I'm afraid if we don't get this turned around it could really keep us from running like a well oiled machine. We already have enough challenges as it is. We don't need a vendor messing this up for us.

Thanks for any insight.

Comments

• Options
    EveryoneEveryone Member Posts: 1,661
    I've always had a preference for working directly with the manufacture whenever possible. I've worked directly with Dell and HP for servers before, and that to me seemed far better than dealing with a middle-man vendor.

CDW, as I'm sure you know, is one of the major vendors out there, and one I've had the most experience with. It really depends on your rep. I've had some good ones, and some really bad ones.

If the vendor has been good for you in the past, but isn't doing so well now... try to speak with someone other than your rep. Make a complaint, or ask to have a different rep assigned to you. Let them know you're unhappy and that you will take your business elsewhere if things don't improve quickly.