Options

Would I be able to get a second cox cable subscription at home?

CodeBloxCodeBlox Member Posts: 1,363 ■■■■□□□□□□
I still live at home. Someone is always hogging the television downstairs. Would it be possible for me to have cox come out and install a wall jack in my room upstairs so that I have my own subscription that I pay for independently of my mothers's downstairs?
Currently reading: Network Warrior, Unix Network Programming by Richard Stevens

Comments

• Options
    EveryoneEveryone Member Posts: 1,661
    I don't see why not. Will they add extra wall jacks for you though? I'm sure they'll bring a cable box and/or modem out for you, and hook it up to any existing jack, or run an extra line to the house if needed, but I don't know that cable companies will run coax through your walls and install a jack for you, at least not cheaply.

You don't have to have your own subscription if all you want is to be able to watch something else. You just need an additional cable box, and coax run to it. It'll probably be an extra $5/month on your parents bill. Internet on the other hand, you'll have to get your own subscription. Just run the coax yourself, it's not that hard.

I'm getting rid of the TV side of my cable subscription, and switching my internet to business class. I have a couple of WD Live Plus boxes (got them for free) on the way, and I'll be starting a Netflix subscription. Much cheaper, and I'll have a better selection of things to watch. My cable bill has crept up to $130/month for just internet and basic HD TV. I don't even have any movie channels! Business class internet, 12Mbps up, 2 Mbps down, is $60/month, no bandwidth cap or port restrictions. + $15/month for Netflix (streaming + DVD by mail) = $75/month. So I'll save $55/month.
  • Options
    Repo ManRepo Man Member Posts: 300
    I worked for a Cable ISP years back. You could get a second plan but it has to be under the same name.
  • Options