Options

Network engineering question

VercianVercian Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,

I have a few questions to throw out for those with experience / advice to share. I just started studying for the CCNP (I plan on doing Switch > Route > TShoot) and currently don't use a lot, if any, of the material at my current job. That said, I am the primary tech of our infrastructure which spans the WAN through 3 regions, and we have around 80 - 90 Cisco devices. Cisco just doesn't break very often (nor do I have time to work with it often) and my job role focuses on literally everything, including Exchange and our virtual environment so my time is consumed pretty quickly.

I'm getting great experience but really want to break out of the 'jack of all trades' deal and go for a straight Cisco career. Cisco, after all, is what I truly enjoy. That said, I don't feel that with my CCNA that I would be capable of really troubleshooting a network or assembling one, as it's been around a year and a half since I attained the cert.

After I get further into the CCNP curriculum that'll change of course, but at what point should I pursue a pure network engineering position? And I do remember the high points of the CCNA, so is it enough to just dive in to a networking job? I don't want to get a job that I'd fail at because I need more exposure, but at the same time I don't want to wait too long and stale my knowledge of all things Cisco.

Thanks for any advice, and thanks for the forums too and information posted!! I'm hoping to have the CCNP knocked out in a few months. :)
A+ Certified, MCITP:SA, MCSA:M, CCNA
Currently pursuing: CCNP

Comments

• Options
    xenodamusxenodamus Member Posts: 758