Options

Buying a small computer for my studies

mishymishy Member Posts: 209 ■■■□□□□□□□
I am looking at buying an Acer Aspire Revo R3700 Desktop for my MCSA/MSCE studies but it has a maximum memory support for 4gig Ram. I need to know whether it will be able to run Windows 2003 Server, Exchange Server 2003 and maybe 5 VM machines at the same time. These are just for my studies so the setup will just be for me to complete the exercises in the books.

The reason I am going for the computer is because of my limit in budget and also space because I have no room to fit in a normal desktop and I will be plugging this onto my TV.

Does anyone have an ideas if this will be able to do the job or if there is any alternatives I can use?

Here are the specs below;

Processor
Intel Atom D525B Dual Core 1.8GHz

Intel NM10 chipset
Memory
2GB RAM
2 x soDIMM slot
Hard Drive
500GB SATA

Comments

• Options
    bigmantenorbigmantenor Member Posts: 233
    I'm not an expert with such things, but from the specs it looks like that setup is going to be a bit dicey if you try to run 5 VMs concurrently.
  • Options
    DigitalZeroOneDigitalZeroOne Member Posts: 234 ■■■□□□□□□□
    IMHO you need more RAM, running that many VMs, even if you had the 4GB that it goes up to would be horrible. Keep in mind that your host OS is going to take up RAM, and then each subsequent VM. If it runs, it will probably take longer to do everything.
  • Options
    exampasserexampasser Member Posts: 718 ■■■□□□□□□□
    You need a better processor and more RAM (at least 8 GB) as others have said. What is your budget?
  • Options
    tbgree00tbgree00 Member Posts: 553 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Those are good computers for email, web, and as a part of an Home Theater. Those are bad for anything else. The CPU isn't really robust enough to give a perfect windows 7 experience, let alone running VMs. The price for that on newegg is 339 USD. You can get an okay basic laptop or used desktop for that on craigslist.