Options

Anyone else garden?

veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
I'm not sure if anyone else has started such an off-topic discussion... icon_lol.gif

My wife and I love to garden. For this year it's peppers, tomatoes, cucumbers. I really wasn't in to eating hot stuff until I met my wife. This year we have cayenne, cow horn, and habanero peppers growing.

attachment.php?attachmentid=1170&stc=1&d=1311554203

Above is one of the cow horn peppers.

Comments

• Options
    EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I think I'd love to garden. I have a new house that the builders didnt do a good job of cleaning up after they handed it over to us. I have been shovelling the debris on and off for 6-7 months now, still havent got the backyard/sideyard/frontyard clear enough to even plant grass. Guess I should probably hire a bobcat and get someone to do it all in a day or two. My other problem is the missus doesnt want to give me a hand with the gardening so I'm on my own.

You are doing well though, that's a good size pepper. Do you change what you plant every season, good for the soil supposedly?
    NSX, NSX, more NSX..

Blog >> http://virtual10.com
  • Options
    PsoasmanPsoasman Member Posts: 2,687 ■■■■■■■■■□
    We did a small garden this year, ran out of room. Next year, I am going to build some raised beds in the front yard and go all out. I find gardening very relaxing after dealing with computer issues all week.
    We grew some red and green bell peppers last year. One of my tricks is to take some FRESH cut grass and place it in the hole, with dirt on top, then plant the seeds or plants. The grass will break down and get warm= happy plants
  • Options
    mikedisd2mikedisd2 Member Posts: 1,096 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I had a few goes in the garden. Problem is, butterflies infest the vegies in the spring, snails eat everything in winter and every dies in the dry summer heat.

Basil and oregano seem to go well though.
  • Options