Options

FWSM reading and references

shednikshednik Member Posts: 2,005
Hi everyone,

So I've recently accepted a new position at a different company and will be starting there in a few weeks. Really excited abut the new role it's a lot of what I'm doing already but at a smaller company so I'm taking on a lot more aspects of the network myself. They use ASAs for firewalls at their internet edge and FWSMs for the data center. I need to review a few things with the AIP-SSM and multi-context firewalls on the ASA which I have this ebook to help me with that.

Amazon.com: Cisco ASA: All-in-One Firewall, IPS, Anti-X, and VPN Adaptive Security Appliance (2nd Edition) (9781587058196): Jazib Frahim, Omar Santos: Books

However I have zero experience with the FWSM at all and I'm going to be the primary person in charge of them at my new company. Does anyone have any recommendations to get up to speed with them? I've looked at some documentation and it didn't look that much different then an ASA config but figured I'd get some recommendations from the forum as well.

any help is appreciated!

joe

Comments

• Options
    SteveO86SteveO86 Member Posts: 1,423
    Cisco Press a book solely about the FWSM - I've never used this just found this on their site.
    Cisco Secure Firewall Services Module (FWSM), Adobe Reader

The Cisco Firewall Book is also today's ebook deal of the day
    $9.99 eBook Deal of the Day

It covers Security Contents but not IPS or AIM, just ASA configuration on versions 8.3/8.2 - Very worth while in my opinion even if just for a refresher.

The book you mentioned in the your posts covers various topics (IPS, Contexts, and much more) - That was the book I initially read when I started working with ASA's. It's one of the best in my opinion.

I've dealt primarily with ASA's and not the FWSM however.

Hope this helps.
    My Networking blog
    Latest blog post: Let's review EIGRP Named Mode
    Currently Studying: CCNP: Wireless - IUWMS
  • Options