Options

A dilemma

CenturionMarioCenturionMario Member Posts: 82 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello. For the past 3.5 months, I've been searching for an entry level IT job, using pretty much any job and company website I can find. I've counted how many jobs I've applied to since that time, and it has been 162 jobs. I've only had 2 physical interviews (both recruiters) and about 4 or 5 phone interviews to show for it. One problem that I have is that since I don't have a car, I use public transportation, which means I'm restricted only to the cities (Minneapolis-St. Paul) and close suburbs. While I did have a tech support position, it was for 9 months for my mom's company (un-paid), before it went under about a year ago. I've been working my current job for about 3 years now, so I haven't been unemployed for a while, but it is nothing related to IT, and the pay is really low (and it's only part time).

My dilemma is that while I want to find an IT job, because we are in serious need of money (replace the roof, other house repairs, and a few other needs), and because of my lack of success in finding an entry level IT job, I'm thinking about just applying to full time non-IT related positions. I understand that if you are out of IT for more than 6 months, then you are considered useless, which is the case with myself. I still want to do IT, but I would rather my mom not work even harder to try to pay for the house repairs, and other needs.

I'm thinking about applying for 2 more months (for an IT job), and if I can't find anything, then I'll try to find something non-IT related, work there for a while to pay for the house repairs, and save for a car for myself and for WGU, then if the time is right, go back to applying for IT jobs.