Options

My career has hit a wall, need some advice

BoneSpurBoneSpur Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
I would like some honest advice from those that have been in the IT industry for some time.

I am 36 years old, married and have children. I am just like the majority of you on this board, trying to take care of my family by the best means necessary. In 2009, I decided to go back to school and finish my degree. After 19 months straight in various college classes, I finished my BS degree in Management of Information Systems (MIS). I did this for two reasons: 1.) I wanted to prove to myself that I could do it. The degree was for me. 2.) My job said that I had to get a degree in order to move up as a manager in the company I work for.

Seems easy right? Well, after finishing my degree with a 3.8 GPA, I was informed that I had to take an ASSET test and pass it in order to even be considered for a management interview. I have always been horrible at taking tests and needless to say, I have failed this test twice now in the last six months. Once you fail it, you have to wait six months before you are eligible to take it again. This is very frustrating.

I have worked in a help desk environment over the last eight years. The first two years were with a help desk that is not technical at all, really just customer service based. I exceeded at this job and was promoted to the training team to train new hires on this desk. After a couple of years, I was promoted to Team Lead and I have been learning the other “technical” help desks. After eight years I am burned out with the help desk world.