Options

Need good advice about a BIS Degree!!!

Izzo0825Izzo0825 Registered Users Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am currently a truck driver with 12 years of experience and graduated in December 2010 with an Associate degree in Business Management. I am now considering making a change from Business Management or Administration to obtaining a Bachelors in Business Information Systems. What type of jobs could I get with a degree in BIS with no experience? How is a BIS degree looked at by employers? What would be some good certifications to obtain? I have always loved the computer field but never listened to my mother about going to school for the IT field when I graduated high school in 1992...wish I would have now. ANY and ALL information and advice would extremely be helpful for this 37 year old working student, married, and with kids making a career change. I am to start my BIS classes the 25th of this month. Thanks in advance people.

Comments

• Options
    hiddenknight821hiddenknight821 Member Posts: 1,209 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Sorry if I had to go off a little bit, but I believe the BIS (Business Information System) degree program you are referring to are widely known as Management Information System. This is the program I believe you intended to get into. You should do a little more research under this name to see if you get better results and ideas what you want to do next. With your background and experience, you can start at an intermediate level quickly before you realize it when you apply for entry-level jobs. Hopes that help.
  • Options
    I have been on the same page as you on the BIS and MIS degrees. I have noticed that some schools are calling the program BIS and some are calling it MIS. I am wondering if these degrees are good for someone with no experience or with someone how has been working in the business field making a transition into IT? What type of entry level or intermediate level jobs and what salary ranges are obtainable with these degrees?
  • Options