Options

Getting Started In The I.T. Field

I need some help determining what road I should I take. I have three years of vocational training in the I.T. field. I studied A+, Cisco/Networking, and some programming. Should I get a college degree or should I get certs? I can pass the A+ exam with a little bit of refresher studying and I'm sure I could pass the Network+ exam by studying on my own. My ultimate goal is to eventually get into I.T. security. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
There's room for those who want the easy work and those who want the challenges. You will, of course, generally be compensated in proportion to what you shoulder. :smile:
Currently Studying: Anything & Everything/Cisco Networking Academy For CCNA. (on hold)

Comments

• Options
    contentproscontentpros Member Posts: 115 ■■■■□□□□□□
    If you want to get into security you need to start thinking about what makes you tick. InfoSec is a huge field with many different opportunities so what are you interested in? What type of stuff do you find yourself researching in your free time because "you want to know"?

Start with the Comptia Security+ its pretty basic but it is one of the minimums most places expect you to have. Take a look at the DoD 8570 requirements to help in finding some direction of which certification(s) to do next. This is more important for government work than private sector but it will still help give you some direction. From my personal experience the best security people have a ton of background and experience. Its rare to find a job these days where you are in a specific role like a "firewall admin" these days we are expected to know a bit about everything. Yet still have specialized security knowledge.

You should really start learning about risk and risk management. In security understanding risk and how it affects the business is a big part of being successful (if you ever want to move into management).