Options

IT Jobs Thriving

2»

Comments

• Options
    tpatt100tpatt100 Member Posts: 2,991 ■■■■■■■■■□
    N2IT wrote: »
    That's where I am at right now.

P&L Statements, Presentations, Risk, Sustainability, Revenue, Cost, Utilization

Those 7 words sum up my space.

Yup, I find myself wanting to take a writing class this summer to improve my writing skills.
  • Options
    UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,567 Mod
    ... I could lab it and figure it out and after a little while become proficient, thats because I am an IT professional and I am expected to be able to handle that.

See, this is my point right there. I'll try to use another example to make my point more clear: Let's assume that an OS is crashing, can you or me lab it even if we're given a one month period of time to do so ? No, we can't.

I know I can't jump to OS kernel programming, even though I'm an experienced IT professional. There are necessary steps to be taken, and there's no one book or one lab or one document to make that shortcut for us. It is painful. Years of working experience in programming + working experience in OS kernels is needed to do such job.

Now moving from that example, a person with a business background can never do efficient project management of Kernel Programmers. Project managers, Architects, Team leaders who manage Kernel Programming teams (for example) MUST be experienced enough in that field. They must take the necessary steps to build that kind of experience/knowledge. IT professionals aren't dumb, the fact that they climbed the ladder to manage such kind of high level teams should mean something. If they can climb the ladder to manage such teams on a large scale, I don't think knowing whether a solution is needed or not will be a problem IMHO.