Options

Recommendation Need : CCNA or CCENT path

KalabinKalabin Member Posts: 64 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm looking for a little guidance here. I'm debating on which path to take to eventually obtain my CCNA. I currently work in the telecommunications industry installing carrier grade equipment and get to play a little with equipment. However that also pulled me away from my studies, im now through my apprenticeship and have passed my journeyman exams and have time to devote to my own studies.

In 2009 I went to my local college and completed all four semesters of the Cisco Networking Acadamy. However, with my job I never really had the time to devote to the lab's so I ended up not taking my certification. I did fairly well and feel I understand the concepts fairly well. I do have a small home lab as well as GNS3 for practicing. My problem is my current job has me working 10+ hours a day and not able to dive deep into the lab work still. I was debating on going through the CCENT ICND1/ICND2 route as it appears to be easier to study for one exam at a time. However im not sure how difficult the actual test's are as opposed to just taking the 640-802.

I'm looking to move up in my career towards a Network Technician that works on carrier class equipment and I feel I need to prove my IP background. So for those of you that have taken the test's could you shed some light on me and guide me?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Options
    alxxalxx Member Posts: 755
    I'd get a few different practise exams (bosun exsim etc)
    and see how you go with those.

Should let ou know how much study you need to do.

note , I haven't done icnd1 or 2 yet
    Goals CCNA by dec 2013, CCNP by end of 2014
  • Options
    MrBrianMrBrian Member Posts: 520