Options

Job Possibility- Need to learn some SQL fast

JourdshJourdsh Member Posts: 91 ■■□□□□□□□□
So, I have a friend who has forwarded my resume to his new employer. He mentions that there is some pretty basic SQL server questions that they will ask, I have no experience with SQL. I am downloading the software and will skim some books, but does anyone have any advice on what basics I should be sure to learn?
WGU Progress

Comments

• Options
    PsoasmanPsoasman Member Posts: 2,687 ■■■■■■■■■□
    During the interview, I would be honest about your SQL knowledge. Let them know that you have started learning it, but don't have experience with it yet.
  • Options
    hiddenknight821hiddenknight821 Member Posts: 1,209 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Just one thing I want to tell you. Don't kill yourself with this. It's best if you can be honest with your employer. Let them know you're eager to learn once you get the job, because it would be a waste of time if they are looking for person with SQL experience. I can see your enthusiastic, and that's great. That's what the employer needs to know so that he doesn't have to waste money on you through some trainings.
  • Options
    phoeneousphoeneous Member Posts: 2,333 ■■■■■■■□□□
    Jourdsh wrote: »
    He mentions that there is some pretty basic SQL server questions that they will ask, I have no experience with SQL.

Questions about coding in sql (select statements) or a sql server platform like ms sql server 2005/2008?

Either way, just be honest. Sql is fun though.
  • Options
    JourdshJourdsh Member Posts: 91 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Oh, I plan to be honest, it isn't a database job, so I don't think I need to know that much about SQL. However if I wanted to show that I have at least started to learn about it, I was starting in the right spot.
    WGU Progress
  • Options
    blargoeblargoe Member Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□