Options

subnetting

charunandacharunanda Registered Users Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
dear sirs,
I am new to networking. now i am doing my ccna. i have a doubt regarding subnetting. my doubt is "why do we need subnetting? why cant we communicate with two pc's at different networks/subnetworks (i.e. one in 192.168.2.1 and the other in 192.168.3.1). at the same time we can communicate if the two computers are on the same network." for this communication we need routers. but my question is why? i havent got a best answer yet. so dear sirs please give me an answer which will erase my doubt.
thanking you in advance.

with regards and respect

charu:)

Comments

• Options
    Todd BurrellTodd Burrell Member Posts: 280
    The main reason is to break up broadcast domains. If you had one big network you would have all of the machines in one network and you would get severe performance hits from all of the broadcasts. Routers separate networks and keep the broadcast domains smaller so there is not as large of a traffic issue - this is due to the fact that routers do not route broadcast traffic.
  • Options
    andy4techandy4tech Member Posts: 138
    You need to try to understand what subnetting really is,well as per my own definition subnetting is a way breaking down a larger network into a smaller ones.Also as per the other question, computer on two different networks will not communicate unless there is a router between them ,routers are used to stop broadcast and to route information from one network to the other.
  • Options
    thanks sir. i know subnetting is user for breaking down large network into small manageable subnetworks. to reduce the collision domin and improve trafficking between the network. but my doubt remains why we cant communicate between the two specific hosts in different networks(for example one in class b and one in class c, or like) without using routers?
  • Options