Options

Temporarily working 2 jobs.

EveryoneEveryone Member Posts: 1,661
This is especially for anyone who works from home.
Have you ever worked 2 full time jobs for just a short stint? Say 3 to 6 months?

I have a good full time permanent job that I love. I get to work from home for this job. I am a multi-tasking maniac, and work is often slow to me. I’ve become very tempted to take on a second job, just temporarily. It certainly isn’t something I’d want to do for a long time, but I think I could handle it short term. My current job will always take priority, but I keep getting contacted by recruiters for short term contracts.

Today I was contacted for an Exchange 2010 migration project, which I have plenty of experience in. They said the job is 100% remote, no on-site required, expected to last 6 months. I am really tempted to take it on, and can’t think of a good reason not to as long as my main job always takes priority.

My wife is about to give birth to our 3rd child any day now, she’s actually starting her maternity leave today, so we’re down to just my income which will make money tight for a while.

If I took this contract on as a second job, I could pay off every debt we have by the end of it. With all our debts paid off, my income would be more than enough, and my wife would no longer need to work. If I don't take it, we'll be lucky if we're debt free before 2015 with my current plan.

Right now it seems like I’d be stupid not to take the opportunity if it presents itself, however I keep thinking there has to be something I am not thinking about that would make this a really bad idea.

Thoughts?

Comments

• Options
    powerfoolpowerfool Member Posts: 1,666 ■■■■■■■■□□
    You will likely get a lot of negative responses for this, just a warning.

I have done this myself, but not nearly as long (3 weeks). If I could do it, I would.