New Security Job

SilverGeniusSilverGenius Member Posts: 56 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have been working senior help desk for about 3 years now and recently the company I work for wants to train me to become more focused on the security aspect of the infrastructure. Right now to start off I will not be doing any in depth specific tasks, like penetration testing or forensics, but I will be doing audits, patch maintenance, AV, firewalls, policy, encryption, endpoint maintenance, etc.

I am currently going to a technical school and hope to graduate in the spring with an AAS in network administration. I have the A+, Security+ and have gone through the CCNA academy (just not taken the test yet).
My boss wants me to look at possible training/certifications. I am looking at it for this next year and the 5 year plan. The CIO hears all these acronyms thrown around, CISSP, GSEC etc. and thinks that they would be great to have. I agree that there is respect with having those certs, but I feel for my level of experience those would be 3-5 years away.

So I know that there are multiple threads on this subject and I have read through them, but I still wanted a place to put my thoughts etc. :)

My plan is to study and pass the CCNA and then look at what the next step might be. What is an intermediate cert before the GSEC or CISSP? The SSCP or should I take a look at the GCWN or a MCITP track?
Any pointers or direction would be great, thanks!

Comments

• JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    A big part of your decision will be how much budget will your employer give you to obtain training and certifications?

With your training, you should do at least CCNA:Security. The Security+ material helps with this. You can then determine if the CCNP or CCSP route is best for your job.

After Cisco, don't forget about other vendor certs for equipment that you may use, such as Juniper.