Am I overqualifed with a masters degree?

tjb122982tjb122982 Member Posts: 255 ■■■□□□□□□□
I have a dual masters in Library Science (to be a librarian) and information science from a Big 10 school. Suffice to say with the economy, it has been a rough go as terms of finding work in a library for the last 18 months. Now I am working as a call center customer service rep for a outsourcing company whose client is probably least favorite wireless carrier basically doing first tier tech support (cannot make or receive calls, cannot send or receive texts or data, correcting voice mail settings, changing SIM and IMEI numbers) along with rate plan and feature changes and of course billing questions. Right now I am studying for the A+ and plan to pass that and the Network+ by next spring. However, my question with a masters degree am I overqualified for a help desk gig? Also, does the current position help me at all? I hope it does because some nights I want to quit on the spot.

Comments

• EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Way over qualified, IMO. Any IT experience will help you in getting your next role. It's ok for you to complete the A+, but after that you should consider doing something like the CCNA/MCTS/MCP, you know something that'll give you more ROI. Once you have your entry level role, there is no need to get any of these crazy compTIA certs anymore. Get a cert that's worth your while. And keep that Master's off your resume. HR are like, O this guy has a Master's and wants a helpdesk gig, nah too overqualified, he's not going to stick around for long, delete resume, next. This is exactly what happened to me 4-5 years ago. I have a Master's too.
    NSX, NSX, more NSX..

Blog >> http://virtual10.com
  • spicy ahispicy ahi Member Posts: 413 ■■□□□□□□□□