MIS Graduate Needing Advice

cqlovecqlove Registered Users Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
I graduated with a B.S. in MIS in Dec. of 2009. In June 2010 I landed a desktop support position (contractor) with ExxonMobil. I support five different office buildings and also the chemical and refinery plant. I am a floater,which means I cover all grounds at the complex. It has been a great job and is only five minutes away from my house. But the pay is low and I am growing tired of desktop support. I want to advance in my IT career but am undecided as which path to take. Will this desktop support role help me advance? Any ideas as to which path to take? Any suggestions would be great! Thanks.

Comments

• whatthehellwhatthehell Member Posts: 920
    That's what I am trying to decide now too. I am over doing support, so trying to find a specialization to slide into, like web dev or networking.

I think taking into classes as a local college would be good to get exposure to other technologies. More certs possibly as well?

Either way good luck to both of us! ;)
    2017 Goals:
    [ ] Security + [ ] 74-409 [ ] CEH
    Future Goals:
    TBD
  • AkaricloudAkaricloud Member Posts: 938
    I too am in about the same boat.

I'm graduating in December with my MIS degree and have a little over 3 years experience in Desktop Support.

My plan so far is to start working on my MCITP: Enterprise Administrator and see where it takes me from there..

I'll definitely be watching this to see what kind of advice you get!
  • veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Yes this is a step in the right direction. Now you need to decide what you want to move into. Below are a few of the typical options:

• Network Infrastructure
    • Server Administration
    • Web Development