Options

Microsoft Certifications - Acquiring the actual certificate?

PA_KidPA_Kid Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all,

First post here to techexams.net, and quite honestly I'm pretty new to the whole world of IT certifications in general. I've been involved in IT for the better part of 15yrs, but have never really had the need for certifications before. This was simply because for most of this time I was involved with Linux servers, and even more specifically a LAMP environment dealing with websites, marketing, hosting, etc...

Well as things do tend to cycle in the IT world, I'm looking to make the transition back to more of a corporate environment, and get back to my roots with system admin work. So I did some research to see what the latest certifications are from Microsoft, and I do see that MCSE is basically now replaced with MCITP-SA for anything beyond Server 2003.

So I've picked up some training materials for the 3 exams (70-640, 70-642, 70-646) and I've started up with the 640 material first (Active Directory). I'm still a few weeks out before I would feel comfortable enough to give testing a shot on this part, but at least I have a plan mapped out for myself.

So my question now is this... when you finish off your 3rd exam for the MCITP-SA cert, do you automatically receive a certificate from Microsoft? Or do you have to make contact with Microsoft, provide your test scores, and at that point receive your certificate?

Sorry if this comes off sounding like a silly question, but as mentioned above I'm still pretty fresh to the IT certification world :) Any/all replies are greatly appreciated, and any advice on certificate paths would be a great help as well.

Comments

• Options
    RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■