Options

Completely New to CCENT/CCNA

captaincrash4captaincrash4 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi, I'm completely new to the cisco world and i'm just looking for a little advice/information on setting myself up to get the certifications.

My friend has given me his lab (planned on doing his CCNA but didn't get started) and it consists of the following:

Routers:
1x 2620
1x 2612

Switches:
2x2900XL

My question is when I get used to setting up everything is it best to actually hook them up for a Local network and Internet or can I just use them for the commands and configs (I'm not entirely sure what i'm talking about yet icon_lol.gif) ?

He also gave me training videos from CBT Nuggets ICND1&2 ,Network + and TrainSignal's ICND1&2 and I plan on getting Wendell Odom's 3rd edition INCD1&2 books when they are released in October. He also gave me a copy of the Packet Tracer 5.0 and i've played about with it so I can get comfortable with things and he suggested to download SDM so i can get used to that too?

Do I have enough to get me comfortable through my qualifications as I don't just want to get "qualified", I want to get an in-depth knowledge So I can have a good career in networking. Also is there anything else I need/should know before I get deep in to studying for the CCENT?

Any advice/help is greatly appreciated and thanks for taking the time to read! :D

Comments

• Options
    alxxalxx Member Posts: 755
    Its more than enough to get started with and for most of ccna.

Can use them in your lab and in your home network.

I'd start with looking at the CBT nuggets videoes and read the books.

Free CCNA Workbook
    Goals CCNA by dec 2013, CCNP by end of 2014
  • Options
    davidspirovalentinedavidspirovalentine Member Posts: 353 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Hey Captain,