Options

Advice Jobs to Gain Experience

itachibro666itachibro666 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Currently I have A+, Net+, CCNA and MCITP:EA
I have studied for CCNP but need a job to pay for the exams and starting a Degree program for computer information systems.
But I am finding it hard to even get an interview I have some experience mostly fixing and building computers for friends or family.
What kind of position should I apply for.

Comments

• Options
    EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    You should take the EA off your resume and apply for helpdesk/desktop support type positions. Also dont mention you are studying for the CCNP. Without some experience to back you up the EA and CCNP hold little value to an employer. It could also be that your resume aint good enough to get caught in the HR dragnet. HTH!
    NSX, NSX, more NSX..

Blog >> http://virtual10.com
  • Options
    LeifAlireLeifAlire Member Posts: 106
    I agree take the EA off and apply for helpdesk. When a non hr person interviews you and the EA is there the IT person would wonder why you got the high level cert but are applying the helpdesk job.
    2015 Goals: VCP-550 - CISA - 70-417
  • Options
    TurgonTurgon Banned Posts: 6,308 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Help desk. While in there learn as much as you can and be available to do more than just helpdesk grunt. Work hard. Be on time. Always be available to work extra hours. Show initiative. Avoid conflict or being seen as overeacting. Handle situations with difficult customers well. Stay positive. Do not criticise anyone. While doing a helpdesk job, apply for other jobs that are an advancement on what you are already doing everywhere, both internally and externally so you can get out of there. Expect to be spending 1 year in helpdesk to make the leap. If you move up sooner so much the better.
  • Options
    jakecitrixjakecitrix Banned Posts: 76 ■■□□□□□□□□
    what wrong with listing the high end mcitp ea and ccnp?