Options

"Do something the Microsoft way” …..What does this mean?

NetworkingStudentNetworkingStudent Member Posts: 1,407 ■■■■■■■■□□
I’m studying for my Windows 7 70-680 certification, and I have read some posts on this forum that have some members toss around the saying “do something the Microsoft way” …..What does this mean?

Forgive my ignorance, but I don’t’ currently work in IT(I'm currently looking for a IT job) , so I’m not sure what the difference is between the Microsoft way and the Corporate office/real world environment.
When one door closes, another opens; but we often look so long and so regretfully upon the closed door that we do not see the one which has opened."

--Alexander Graham Bell,
American inventor

Comments

• Options
    EveryoneEveryone Member Posts: 1,661
    You'll figure it out soon enough. There's the "test answer", and then there's the way you'd actually do it. They aren't always the same. I'm sure you've run into that in other areas of life. It's not unique to Microsoft or IT.
  • Options
    QordQord Member Posts: 632 ■■■■□□□□□□
    The only way I can think to explain it is that if there are multiple ways to accomplish the same goal, what would the preferred way according to Microsoft. You might see a question where every answer could be correct, but only one is the right answer depending on the wording of the question. Man, I hope that makes sense.
  • Options
    DevilsbaneDevilsbane Member Posts: 4,214 ■■■■■■■■□□
    One example would be if you are talking about configuring a router. In the real world, you would use a Cisco router. On a Microsoft exam its going to be a Server 2003/2008 machine with RRAS installed.