Options

What certs (besides A+) are attainable without work experience?

jcole4lsujcole4lsu Member Posts: 34 ■■□□□□□□□□
Like the title says, which certifications have you all found are reasonably attainable without the benefit of any real IT work experience? I have just started school for a degree in CIS with a networking specialization, and while I have 8 years of work experience, none of it is in IT.
Browsing the A+ requirements that seems like a fairly obvious answer. But what about things like Net+, Sec+, CCENT, CIW etc?
Any and all input appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    drumrolfedrumrolfe Member Posts: 50 ■■□□□□□□□□
    jcole4lsu wrote: »
    Like the title says, which certifications have you all found are reasonably attainable without the benefit of any real IT work experience? I have just started school for a degree in CIS with a networking specialization, and while I have 8 years of work experience, none of it is in IT.
    Browsing the A+ requirements that seems like a fairly obvious answer. But what about things like Net+, Sec+, CCENT, CIW etc?
    Any and all input appreciated.

It really depends on the person and how much they commit to their studies. The CIW certifications cover a lot of material but they aren't very focused. I personally think the Net+, Sec+, CCENT, and some of the CIW certs are obtainable without I.T. experience.

I would recommend the CCENT over all the others, especially with consideration to your degree focus. The Security+ is also useful, but is more difficult than the CCENT in my opinion.
  • Options
    dave330idave330i Member Posts: 2,091 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I've gotten CCNA & Sec+ w/out any IT experience.
    2018 Certification Goals: Maybe VMware Sales Cert
    "Simplify, then add lightness" -Colin Chapman
  • Options
    N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Security + is a nice one and from what I hear the CCENT is another good one.