Options

I'm at the crossroads, help!

My fellow TE members, I really need your input on this. I have been with this small company for over a year. About 5 months ago, I have been promoted to a helpdesk manager but with no salary increase, just more responsibilities. The past 5 months have been literally a nightmare but I stucked it through. I know I'm underpaid, my boss is a micromanager, no more overtime (to save company money), and my work has tremendously affected my personal/social life.

I'm also a part time student at the masters level, got a few courses left. My work is convenient in terms of location, not far from my home or school, my co-workers are great, but other than that, it’s not challenging and I can't stand it. I loved my original role as an IT support analyst. I was pretty much forced to take this role and now I get the blame for everything that goes wrong. This is one of the reasons why the guy before me left, plus I don't want to be a manager, I like to solidify my technical skills.

Last week, I was called to write an exam for a support/system admin position with a large government organization. Shortly after I completed the test, they sent me an e-mail stating they would like to see me for an interview. It's a temp position with possible extension, 2 full time slots available. I have never done a temp position or contract. I like the feeling of having a "stable" income especially at a moment when the economy is not doing so great, plus I’m paying for school and trying to save up for marriage.