Options

Un-qualified Network Academy Instructor?

scheistermeisterscheistermeister Member Posts: 748 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm posting this up to get your guys take on this. About 4 years ago I graduated from a Cisco Network Academy that covered both the CCNA and the CCNP. Since then I have started recommending it to people and trying to get involved in helping this Academy along going so far as getting my current employer to start a co-op program with the academy. Now that I have some friends and co-workers that have made it through the CCNA and started the CCNP potion I recently heard some very concerning information about it. Basically the instructor for the class is not a CCNP and has little to no networking related work experience (I know because I interviewed this person to be the co-op at my place of employment about maybe 4 months ago, they weren't selected). Needless to say some of my friends in the class a rather upset they are paying for someone without their cert (they do not know his former place of employment wasn't even network related) to teach them. I personally feel this is a dis-service to the students as well and plan on asking why my former instructor hired this person to teach.

What is your guy's opinion of this? What are the requirements to be a Cisco Networking Academy instructor at the CCNP level?
Give a man fire and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.

Comments

• Options
    nerdydadnerdydad Member Posts: 261
    Wow, I was going to ask the forum what they thought of this. I am a student in this class, and I am VERY unhappy. The instructor told me he "is very confident that he is able to teach us the material" at which point I asked, why don't you take the test then, and he replied, "I don't have an answer for that".