CCNA - Self Study?

FirecellFirecell Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 44 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have limited experience with networking and the IT field.

Can you self-study and pass the CCNA exam? Or would you recommend attending a Boot Camp?

Comments

• earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I'd recommend self study. I'm taking my test soon and pretty confident I've got the material down. The Odom books are dry but they're (in my opinion) the best source to use. The Lammle book is an easier read but not quite as well fleshed out (you'll need to use other sources with it). Do some labbing with packet tracer or GNS3 or even better with real equipment. If you go the 2 test route packet racer is plenty for the first test.
    Good luck in your studies!
    No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.
  • snokerpokersnokerpoker Member Posts: 661 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I am doing just fine studying for it on my own. I would have loved to do the network academy but I can't afford to be away from my wife and kid two-three days a week in the evenings. I studied for 2.5-3 months for CCENT and passed with a very good score. Now I am starting ICND2. I think you should be just fine if you get the right amount of resources and put in the time to lab it up!

I am very lucky and have been able to get a lot of resources. I am using cbt nuggets, Cisco press, a couple sim's and a home lab.

If you don't have much experience I recommend doing the CCENT first. It will give you a solid foundation to grow on.
  • MrBrianMrBrian Member Posts: 520