Options

Magic formula for getting high paying IT job

rob7278rob7278 Member Posts: 57 ■■□□□□□□□□
When I first found this site I had been laid-off for for over 1 year from a Project Manager job with a General Contractor in the construction industry and was in the process of trying to change career fields and get into IT. Initially all I wanted to know was - what certifications are going to help me the most in getting hired for my first IT job. In reading countless posts this is probably the most asked question.
If you look at my Joined Date, you will see that I am by no means a seasoned IT veteran - I have been in IT for just under 1 year. I just wanted to share what worked for me and my observations of what it takes to get into IT - or really almost any other industry for that matter.
I studied for and earned the A+, Security+, MCSA and the MCTS:upgrade MCSA 2003 to 2008. I received 0 calls for any open positions until I earned the MCSA, then within 2 weeks I accepted a 6 month contract job doing Help Desk and paying $18 hr for a large global IT company. After 4 months they bought out my contract and bumped me up to $22 hr. After I had been there 4 more months I quit and accepted an Incident Management position with a fortune 500 company paying $25 hr, which is where I am currently.
I am taking the ITIL V3 Foundations exam tomorrow and assuming I pass - the cert along with the experience I am currently building will pretty much guarantee I will be able to get bumped up to $30 hr in 6-8 months; why do I think that? Ask around how much industry average pay is for an Incident Manager.
I am only sharing my experience so that anyone just trying to get into IT will realize that - you don't have to get a 4 yr degree, you don't have to start out making $13 hr and put in 4-5 years on a Help Desk.