Options

what do you guys think of highschool dropouts working in i.t?

2»

Comments

• Options
    erpadminerpadmin Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    swild wrote: »
    I'm not saying drop out and start bussing tables. I'm saying drop out and start your real education in college. No one cares, as long as you have a GED.

Trust me...a lot of colleges care.

With a GED, you have to go to community college and do a year there before you can even think about transferring out (though at that point, I'd just finish out there for an AA.) Most four year institutions will not admit you if you have only a GED without a prior background at a community college.
  • Options
    jakecitrixjakecitrix Banned Posts: 76 ■■□□□□□□□□
    well i dropped at 15 did certs and started i.t work at 18

Now 19 i am a engineer and get 45k a year, have a good car,

I dont regret dropping matter of fact i am more succesful than most ppl who finished highschool they r now in uni, i luv laughing at them.lol cuz they laughed at me b4
  • Options
    drkatdrkat Banned Posts: 703
    I'm not saying that folks shouldn't get a high school diploma. I'm saying that it all depends on what you're looking to do. IT is very "forgiving" in the fact that you can self-motivate/learn and hone your skill set without a "formal" education. It really is a trade. Unlike other professions where a drop out wouldn't make it.

I'd whoop my kids behind if she dropped out of high school. She doesn't need to go through what I went through trying to "shove it to the man" - get a damn education and be successful and take care of Daddy!

Honestly I hope she doesn't do a lot of the things I've done. When it comes to HR - I've had clearance level background checks that never turned me down due to lack of high school education; so burst that bubble.

If anyone asks you just tell em you graduated - nobody checks when you have X years of experience.
  • Options
    jakecitrix wrote: »