Options

A metalhead takes on the CCIE - My progress thread

stuh84stuh84 Member Posts: 503
Not the most inspiring thread title I know, but everything else was either too inapproriate for a public forum or too similar to other thread titles.

So a little background, I've been in networking for about 5 years in total, but part of that was working on the front line customer support at an ISP. I did the odd bit of home router troubleshooting, nothing like what I'm doing now. I've been using Cisco stuff for just over 4 years now, and have been adding certifications and experience along with job promotions in the mix for about 3 years. I got my CCNA back in 2009, CCNP last August, and passed my CCIP this week. I also have a couple of Juniper certs.

My job currently is working 2nd/3rd line network support. My company is kind of like an ISP, except its almost purely for transactions (real time, settlement files, etc) rather than all sorts of different forms of data. I get involved in the customer facing side (the transaction side) and also the office side (the enterprise network side) so it gives a good mix of both worlds.

I decided to go for the CCIE as I want to gain the knowledge that comes from it. As much experience as I can get in my day job, there will always be holes in it (for example multicast is very rarely used where I am, nor is IPv6, and MPLS is quite limited) so I'm looking to fill the gaps with this. Also, it doesn't harm that it will be a great certification to go with my experience to help me advance my career further.