Software Engineer or Network Engineer? - Career Path

FirecellFirecell Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 44 ■■□□□□□□□□
What is your opinion on becoming a software engineer or network engineer? What is the expected job growth and placement for 2012 and 2013?

How difficult is the skill set for each?

If you were starting over from scratch, what job path would you decide on in the IT industry?

I have limited IT knowledge and currently at entry level. I need guidance in planning my education and certification. I really do not have enough exposure in the IT field to perform effective decision-making on my career path.

Any help is greatly appreciated...

Thanks icon_cheers.gif

Comments

• phantasmphantasm Member Posts: 995
    Well it says you're enrolled in a CompSci program so that tells me your leaning towards Software Engineer. Job growth for 2012-2013 ahouls nor bw your concern for an SE or NE job if you're at the entry level. You won't get there from here that quick. You need to decide what you want to do... do you want to design and implement large enterprise networks or do you want to write software? That simple. One is not like the other.
    "No man ever steps in the same river twice, for it's not the same river and he's not the same man." -Heraclitus
  • cxzar20cxzar20 Member Posts: 168
    Software Engineering for sure...if I didn't hate the work so much. I remember going to career fairs and EVERYONE seemed to be looking for software engineers, but few were looking for network engineers. I was lucky in that I was able to start in networking right away but it seems like barrier to entry is more difficult. It all depends on your skill set and interest.

My MS was in Computer Science as well so that doesn't automatically lead you down the software engineering path. Find what you're interested in and make sure you can go to work every day, be competent, and tolerate the work.
  • FirecellFirecell Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 44 ■■□□□□□□□□