Difference between NOC and Helpdesk

cleveohcleveoh Member Posts: 38 ■■□□□□□□□□
I currently work as a NOC tech and have had a couple of interviews lately where the interviewer (one of them a network engineer) does not know the difference between a NOC and general help desk. Anybody have a concise description of the difference between the two? The reason I am asking is that I have a phone interview tomorrow for a Desktop Support position.

Job Posting:

REQUIREMENTS:
  • Ability to work safely and independently in a plant environment
  • Strong oral and written communications skills; able to articulate ideas and listen effectively
  • Self-starter demonstrating excellent time management & organizational skills including the ability to multi-task and effectively prioritize multiple, concurrent work activities
  • Excellent interpersonal skills including the ability to work well with customers, peers and vendors at all organizational levels
  • Demonstrated commitment to customer service
  • Excellent work ethic and willingness to extend the extra effort required to meet critical completion time lines in support of plant needs
  • 1-2 years experience supporting an enterprise network, or equivalent experience preferred
  • Able to lift 50 lbs and possess physical fitness necessary to work in a heavy-industry environment
  • Valid driver’s license and clean driving record to move equipment within/between plants
  • 24/7 off-hours support including weekends and evenings as required
  • College Degree required
Technical Skills Required:
  • PC troubleshooting & installation in a network environment
  • Desktop application support
  • Software installation & management
  • Printer / MFD support
  • Data Network support including basic wiring and troubleshooting
  • Data Center Facilities Management, including UPS, power distribution, HVAC, structured cabling and related technologies strongly desired
Additional Skills/Qualities not required but would be a plus: