Options

How to decide between software/network/database engineering

davidboydavidboy Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
What helped you guys decide which path to take?

Which one will be most demanded? Which one will be least demanded?

Which one pays the least?

Comments

• Options
    RouteThisWayRouteThisWay Member Posts: 514
    I hate to answer a question with a question...

Which one do you think you will be the happiest doing? They are all vastly different beasts.
    "Vision is not enough; it must be combined with venture." ~ Vaclav Havel
  • Options
    The thing is I dont know. The only scripting Ive done so far is VB.NET, HTML and CSS. I would not mind going the SE route.

However I have no experience with network or database, however, I will be taking at least one of these classes next semester which should help me a bit.

Can you list the pros and cons of each? Also, if I want to be a Systems Analyst, is it a good idea to master in at least one of the above?
  • Options
    Forsaken_GAForsaken_GA Member Posts: 4,024
    davidboy wrote: »
    Can you list the pros and cons of each?

You really can't. They're very different disciplines. It's like asking for pros and cons between being a janitor and an astronaut. sure, you could try, but the list will quickly get unwieldy to the point where it's not really helpful.

Figure out what you enjoy the most, and go do that. It really is that simple. Since you have classes in the others coming up, you'll get some exposure, and that will give you a pretty good idea whether or not you'll enjoy them.
  • Options
    FirecellFirecell Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 44 ■■□□□□□□□□
    davidboy wrote: »

The thing is I dont know.

You sound just like me...lol I am exploring all options, as well. I am leaning towards SE more, but without actually conducting any programming, the decision is hard to make. Same goes with networking and database work, I have zero experience, so making a decision on interest is hard.