Options

I have a Bachelors (and a Masters) in other fields but should I go back for AA in IT?

tjb122982tjb122982 Member Posts: 255 ■■■□□□□□□□
I have a quick question for everyone here. I have been working on readying myself for the A+ and the Network+ and I plan on having both by the spring. However, my question is am I wasting my time by just going for the certifications and not an actual degree in IT such as a AA or BA? I already have a BS in History and Political Science along with a Masters in Library Science (for which I have beginning to omit from my IT resume). Any insights or suggestions would be appreciated greatly.

Comments

• Options
    nelnel Member Posts: 2,859 ■□□□□□□□□□
    tjb122982 wrote: »
    I have a quick question for everyone here. I have been working on readying myself for the A+ and the Network+ and I plan on having both by the spring. However, my question is am I wasting my time by just going for the certifications and not an actual degree in IT such as a AA or BA? I already have a BS in History and Political Science along with a Masters in Library Science (for which I have beginning to omit from my IT resume). Any insights or suggestions would be appreciated greatly.

No, i wouldnt go back to do a degree in IT. Working up to a masters level proves you can work to a high standard already. Also, many in the industry dont have IT specific degrees. Imo theres on a rare occassion where multiple degrees at the same level are worth it. I would concentrate on IT certs.
    Xbox Live: Bring It On

Bsc (hons) Network Computing - 1st Class
    WIP: Msc advanced networking
  • Options
    TurgonTurgon Banned Posts: 6,308 ■■■■■■■■■□

I have a degree in History. You completed a course of postgraduate study already. Save your precious hard earned money and stay as you are. You already have the benefits of being educated and receiving an education to a high level, thats enough.
  • Options