Options

First IT Job. With ISP

LamplightLamplight Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello, all, I have been on Techexams.net since 2007 I think; I just forgot which email I used because I have too many and forgot my password. Anyways, I graduated with a Associates Degree in Network Administration last year. Took a job at Geek Squad making 9.50 an hour(I'm 22).

Then I got a call from Insight Communications, they received my resume from school, I did the personality & technical test, passed those, and then did a written technical test before the actual interview. The job will be Tier 2 Technical Support at Insight Communications which was just bought out by Time Warner Cable(not sure how that will go over) but my starting wage is 15 an hour.

I have the CCENT and I plan on getting the CCNA ASAP to get out of help desk, from what I've heard just from reading is that it's very challenging. Any tips? Hopefully this will be a good opportunity. I start Monday. Wish me luck. Btw, I just bought an iPhone today, converted from Android and I'm loving it! Lol
Working On: eCPPT

Comments

• Options
    the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Congrats! I know when I was with Comcast, most people used the CCNA in an attempt to get off the helpdesk. At Comcast you were looking at least a year of being on the helpdesk before being able to move somewhere else, could be different where you are at (especially since you are Tier 2). Use the experience and keep trucking, Time Warner might not be that bad (if it's like Comcast, it could mean free tv/internet/phone service which was awesome). Again congrats and good luck!
    WIP:
    PHP
    Kotlin
    Intro to Discrete Math
    Programming Languages
    Work stuff
  • Options