Options

Do you plan to retire from IT?

2»

Comments

• Options
    Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Interesting stratification in the responses and votes. Interesting indeed.
  • Options
    SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    I'm sure I will retire from IT. In fact, I'm pretty sure I already have. While I'm still gunning for a part-time IT gig to help me pay for school, my educational path is taking me down a slightly different path. I'm studying computer science & electrical engineering, and I find myself browsing the mechanical engineering department's class-listings like they were adult sites, sometimes. In my heart of hearts, though, I'd love to move more and more away from technology-specific fields as I enter grad-school, and with some luck I'll end up studying something like physics while I do research and maybe even teach.

In short: IT's been good to me and this kind of work will always have a special place in my heart and my life, but I dream of being a mad scientist when all is said and done.

Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Learn
    Free PowerShell Resources: Top PowerShell Blogs
    Free DevOps/Azure Resources: Visual Studio Dev Essentials

Let it never be said that I didn't do the very least I could do.
  • Options
    N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I am heading the way of an consultant. Higher bill rate spotty hours. One week I may work 60 hours the next 0. With my wife having an extemely high IQ we are (I AM) pushing here on to do her dream of being a nurse anesthesia. Her first week of work was last week, 2 years from now she should able eligible to apply for the anethesia school. Her job will pay for the whole masters so why not right?

Anyway that's what I plan on doing. Hopefully retiring before 50. I have been investing since I was 18 so I should be able to sustain.
  • Options
    Excellent1Excellent1 Member Posts: 462 ■■■■■■■□□□
    Monkerz wrote: »